Our History

Celebrating 50 years

Fifty trees were planted in 2018 to commemorate the 50th Anniversary of McLeod.

Gertrude Evelyn Mcleod

The McLeod Country Golf Club was named after Gertrude Evelyn McLeod(1891 – 1971). Gertrude was born on June 1st 1891 at Spring Hill in Brisbane. She was the daughter of Daniel Walker.

The Clubhouse

The first clubhouse was built in 1969. Architect, Colin Trapp was asked to design a ‘minimal clubhouse at minimal cost’. The resulting one-story building of concrete blocks included the traditional nineteenth hole…
Dream to Reality Book – digital version
From a dream to a Reality
Written and compiled by Ethel Gee 1980. Digitalised with permission 2017 as part of the Jubilee Project.

Women On Course

This book traces the story of a group of Brisbane women who, with determination and courage, established the only golf club administered by women in the Southern Hemisphere and one of the few such clubs in the world.

The Silo

The silo on McLeod Golf Course, visible from Tekapo St, marks the site of one of the original dairy farms in the area. A farmhouse and farm buildings were once situated close by the silo.

McLeod Country Golf Club

Everyone at McLeod Country Golf Club would like to thank all our Members and Fellow past Presidents for there exceptional work and stepping up to help get McLeod Golf Club to where it is today.
  • Kath Atherton
  • Barbara Bishop
  • Irene Coombes
  • Di Paez
  • Janice Edmunds
  • Deborah Prior
  • Heather Hagan
  • Claire Taylor
  • Carolyn Mcilvenny
  • Margaret Harris
  • Hilda Reid OMA
  • Grace Ferguson
  • Margaret Duggan
  • Robin Chesterman
  • Margery Rudder
  • Rae Livingston
  • Deborah Marsland

Past Fellows Presidents

  • 1969  D. Koroloff
  • 1992-1993  G. Cullen
  • 1969-1972  R. Sheppard
  • 1993-1996  K. Wilkinson   
  • 1972-1975  K. Wilson
  • 1996-2000    S.Montgomery
  • 1975-1978    S.Montgomery
  • 2001-2002 K Wilkinson
  • 1978-1981 R. Whannel
  • 2003-2004 G. Cullen
  • 1981-1982 P. Bird
  • 2004.2006 N. McCabe
  • 1982-1984 H. Whitting
  • 2007-2013 N. Fairhurst
  • 1984-1985 A. Corless
  • 2013-2016 D. Boyd
  • 1985-1988 I. Vallis
  • 2016-2017 S. Malson
  • 1988-1989 D. Murphy
  • 2017 P. De’ath
  • 1989-1992 J. Craig  

Book now

Select the day


Complete your reservation