The Club

About McLeod

Established in 1968, McLeod Country Golf Club is a leading destination for all golfers, recently voted Top 10 Best Golf Courses in Brisbane by TripAdvisor. Only a 20 minute short drive from Brisbane City centre, McLeod is a Tier 2 Golf Course and home to a Pro Shop managed by professional golfer Drew McLellan. The shop is stocked with On Course products https://www.oncoursegolf.com.au/  

Call in to see what’s available.

You will find the McLeod Country Golf Club settled amongst the winding Mount Ommaney Creek, encompassing unrivalled natural scenery as you work your way through the championship 18 hole golf course.

With superb greens and fairways, our golf course is supported by an outstanding clubhouse with a fully licensed bar and bistro. 

Click here to see our course map.

Our History

The McLeod Country Golf Club was named after Gertrude Evelyn McLeod (1891-1971). Gertrude dedicated her life to her passion of golf, leading to her life-long advocacy in the evolution of golf in Australia particularly for women. In 1968, a new all women’s administered golf club was established and as a tribute to Gertrude, the title McLeod Country Golf Club was chosen.

The development of the McLeod Country Golf Club was a pinnacle moment for the advancement of women in sport in Australia. The founding committee faced numerous hurdles prior to the opening of the club. After several years of consultation amongst the golfing community, Brisbane City Council and often doubtful male only golf clubs, the team of dedicated ladies behind McLeod Country Golf Club successfully commissioned Architect Colin Trapp to design the minimalist clubhouse.

Funding for the new clubhouse was initially scarce as doubts over its legitimacy were cast throughout the community. Hilda Reed, a member of the founding committee, approached then QLD Premier Sir George Francis Reuben Nicklin to seek funding. Sir Nicklin took to the idea of the new club and proceeded to advocate to Suncorp to assist with the funds to build the clubhouse. A short time later, Suncorp agreed to loan roughly $45,000 to the committee for the initial funds for the construction of the clubhouse.

In September 1968, a handing over ceremony was held on the soon to be McLeod Country Golf Club land. It was at this ceremony, Century Estates, the original owners of the land handed over the deeds to the land for the sum of just $1, this $1 bill can still be found proudly mounted within the clubhouse.

As you go around the course you will encounter the famous silo. The silo on McLeod Golf Course, visible from Tekapo Street, marks the site of one of the original dairy farms in the area.

To read about the rich history of McLeod Country Gold Club make sure to check out the digital ebook ‘Dream to Reality’

The story of The McLeod Country Golf Club

From a ‘Dream to a Reality’ Documentary
Written and compiled by Ethel Gee 1980. Digitalised with permission 2017 as part of the Jubilee Project.

Everyone at McLeod Country Golf Club would like to thank all our Members and Fellow past Presidents for their exceptional work in getting McLeod Golf Club to where it is today.

Past Presidents

  • 1968-1970 Kath Atherton
  • 1971-1973 Hilda Reid OMA
  • 1974-1976 Claire Taylor
  • 1976-1978 Margery Rudder
  • 1978-1981 Rae Livingston
  • 1981-1984 Irene Coombes
  • 1984-1987 Janice Edmunds
  • 1987-1990 Heather Hagan
  • 1990-1993 Margaret Harris
  • 1993-1996 Grace Ferguson
  • 1996-1997 Barbara Bishop
  • 1997-1999 Margaret Duggan
  • 1999-2001 Robin Chesterman
  • 2001-2003 Pat Sloane
  • 2003-2009 Deborah Marsland
  • 2009-2014 Di Paez
  • 2014-2015 Deborah Prior
  • 2015-2019 Carolyn Mcilvenny
  • 2019-2021 Meryl McKenzie
  • 2021-2022 Jen Godfrey
  • 2022-Present Di Lally

Past Mens Presidents/Captains

  • 1969 D. Koroloff (P)
  • 1969-1972 R. Sheppard (P)
  • 1972-1975 K. Wilson (P)
  • 1975-1978 S.Montgomery (P)
  • 1978-1981 R. Whannel (P)
  • 1981-1982 P. Bird (P)
  • 1982-1984 H. Whitting (P)
  • 1984-1985 A. Corless (P)
  • 1985-1988 I. Vallis (P)
  • 1988-1989 D. Murphy (P)
  • 1989-1992 J. Craig (P)
  • 1992-1993 G. Cullen (P)
  • 1993-1996 K. Wilkinson (P)
  • 1996-2000 S.Montgomery (P)
  • 2001-2002 K Wilkinson (P)
  • 2003-2004 G. Cullen (P)
  • 2006 N. McCabe (P)
  • 2007-2013 N. Fairhurst (P)
  • 2013-2016 D. Boyd (P)
  • 2016-2017 S. Malson (P)
  • 2017-2018 P. De’ath (P)
  • 2019-2021 P. Glassop (C)
  • 2021-Present S. Pisani (C)

Contact Us

    Book now

    Select the day


    Complete your reservation