McLeod is Brisbane's best golfing secret. | +61 7 3376 3666   |

McLeod is Brisbane's best golfing secret.


Welcome to the History page for the McLeod Country Golf Course.

Other information can also be found on our Wikepedia page here

McLeod Foundation Members

A list of Foundation members and the Inaugural Meeting Minutes of the McLeod Country golf Club, Deed of Agreement…

Read More
The Clubhouse
The first clubhouse was built in 1969. Architect, Colin Trapp was asked to design a ‘minimal clubhouse at minimal cost’. The resulting one-story building of concrete blocks included the traditional nineteenth hole…
Read More
Course Development

Jan Edmunds continues her
series of articles outlining the
development of the course.
Under developement.

Read More
Gertrude Evelyn McLeod

The McLeod Country Golf Club was named after Gertrude Evelyn McLeod(1891 – 1971). Gertrude was born on June 1st 1891 at Spring Hill in Brisbane. She was the daughter of Daniel Walker…

Read More
Brisbane Floods

Being built on a flood plain, McLeod has seen significant damage as a result of the Floods in Brisbane…

Read More
Women on Course

This book traces the story of a group of Brisbane women who, with determination and courage, established the only golf club administered by women in the Southern Hemisphere and one of the few such clubs in the world.

Read More
Child Minding at McLeod 1968

First child minding alongside 12th fairway with Marge Rudder in charge 1968.

Pennant History

A collection of Photographs of pennant players through the years.

Read More
The Silo
The silo on McLeod Golf Course, visible from Tekapo
St, marks the site of one of the
original dairy farms in the area. A farmhouse and
farm buildings were once situated close by
the silo.

Club Sponsors


McLeod Facebook Page

What’s On